This post will probably be a short one, seeing how the Yankees have yet to really do anything in the offseason. Possibly a trade with Washington to get Michael Morse? Honestly, if you ask me, Morse should stay with the Nationals. He's thriving and doing well with an upcoming franchise. He did help them make the postesason last season. The 1st time the Washington Nationals have made it to the dance. I believe either this season or next season will be theirs to win a championship pending any major moves, deals, etc. Now, for the Yankees standpoint, what are we doing? Bringing back Ichiro i believe is a plus for us, good deal. Even though he's up there in age (then again what Yankee this season isn't) he can still be a threat running the bases and in the outfield. I honestly believed that Torii Hunter would've been a good fit in the Bronx, not just because of his bat and impeccable defense, but his attitude and hunger to win games. The Yankees walk into spring training and opening day with the AARP crew. We don't need to name any names of who's up there in age, and let's not forget that Alex Rodriguez is out having surgery on his other hip. Do the Yankees actually have a chance to win the division? Even make the postseason as a wild card? With the squad we have now, thinking about a World Series is far out of the question. As of right now, i say no. We're old, Hal Steinbrenner wants to put a leash on the Yankees spending, Cashman has been quiet, so it makes you kinda nervous and curious. Who's gonna be our catcher? Can you really trust Cervelli, Stewart, and possbily Romine all season long? Normally, we'd all be excited about a new season approaching us. This year, i believe the Yankees have been humbled due to the fact that no moves have been made to give us the Yankees faithful any legitimate shot to gloat on how we're gonna win anything. Let's not forget that the division just got tougher with everyone that the Toronto Blue Jays signed, including R.A. Dickey from the Mets. Yup, you guessed it, a knuckleballer. If anything, let me find a way to Tampa this spring training and tryout for the Yankees. I'm young, gifted, i can hit, field, and i can me a person the Yankees can make noise about. For once, this bothers and irks me that the big bad Yankees that we've been known as has done nothing really going into spring training, and we all know we can't trust Mo, Pettitte, and Jeter just yet. I mean, yes, they're coming back, that's great. Just keep in mind that they all did have bad injuries this past season, so we can't fully expect them to go back to the old form they were at before these injuries took place. Here's a name i believe might be an X-factor walking into this season: Michael Pineda. Remember that he did not pitch at all last season due to his dead arm, and the fact he gained alot of weight walking into spring training. The only way the Yankees can show they can still play with everything going on around them is to come out strong in the 1st half of the season. Win, and win big. After you win, win it all and shut all of the doubters up.
Until then, get the canes, walkers, and wheelchairs out for the New York AARP Yankees.
No comments:
Post a Comment