Wednesday, January 9, 2013

Crickets in the Bronx

This post will probably be a short one, seeing how the Yankees have yet to really do anything in the offseason. Possibly a trade with Washington to get Michael Morse? Honestly, if you ask me, Morse should stay with the Nationals. He's thriving and doing well with an upcoming franchise. He did help them make the postesason last season. The 1st time the Washington Nationals have made it to the dance. I believe either this season or next season will be theirs to win a championship pending any major moves, deals, etc. Now, for the Yankees standpoint, what are we doing? Bringing back Ichiro i believe is a plus for us, good deal. Even though he's up there in age (then again what Yankee this season isn't) he can still be a threat running the bases and in the outfield. I honestly believed that Torii Hunter would've been a good fit in the Bronx, not just because of his bat and impeccable defense, but his attitude and hunger to win games. The Yankees walk into spring training and opening day with the AARP crew. We don't need to name any names of who's up there in age, and let's not forget that Alex Rodriguez is out having surgery on his other hip. Do the Yankees actually have a chance to win the division? Even make the postseason as a wild card? With the squad we have now, thinking about a World Series is far out of the question. As of right now, i say no. We're old, Hal Steinbrenner wants to put a leash on the Yankees spending, Cashman has been quiet, so it makes you kinda nervous and curious. Who's gonna be our catcher? Can you really trust Cervelli, Stewart, and possbily Romine all season long? Normally, we'd all be excited about a new season approaching us. This year, i believe the Yankees have been humbled due to the fact that no moves have been made to give us the Yankees faithful any legitimate shot to gloat on how we're gonna win anything. Let's not forget that the division just got tougher with everyone that the Toronto Blue Jays signed, including R.A. Dickey from the Mets. Yup, you guessed it, a knuckleballer. If anything, let me find a way to Tampa this spring training and tryout for the Yankees. I'm young, gifted, i can hit, field, and i can me a person the Yankees can make noise about. For once, this bothers and irks me that the big bad Yankees that we've been known as has done nothing really going into spring training, and we all know we can't trust Mo, Pettitte, and Jeter just yet. I mean, yes, they're coming back, that's great. Just keep in mind that they all did have bad injuries this past season, so we can't fully expect them to go back to the old form they were at before these injuries took place. Here's a name i believe might be an X-factor walking into this season: Michael Pineda. Remember that he did not pitch at all last season due to his dead arm, and the fact he gained alot of weight walking into spring training. The only way the Yankees can show they can still play with everything going on around them is to come out strong in the 1st half of the season. Win, and win big. After you win, win it all and shut all of the doubters up.

Until then, get the canes, walkers, and wheelchairs out for the New York AARP Yankees.

The Giants Doomed Theirselves

All they had to do was win that very important Monday Night game in Landover, and they were in!

The Giants had their season right in front of them. They had another playoff appearance in their sights, and the chance to defend their Super Bowl crown, and they dropped the ball. So now you have a team, who won it all the season before with a 9-7 record, sitting at home with the same exact record. So much for the team saying that they were better than that 9-7 record. So the question here is, what went wrong for the G-Men? How did they go from having the division title right in the palm in their hands to sitting home wondering what happened to what was a promising season? I'll tell you exactly what happened: they lost fight, focus, and hunger.

That Monday night in Landover, Maryland was basically a playoff game for the Giants. The game started out as if the Giants were gonna win. Controlled the clock, had long drives, even RGIII didn't look like the superhuman he's been for most of this season. What killed the Giants big time in that game was the penalties, and inability to score a touchdown once reaching the red zone. That has always been a killer for this team under head coach Tom Coughlin. It's not his fault so much. Us Giants fans point the finger right at offensive coordinator Kevin Gilbride, or as we like to call him "Killdrive". You'd expect them to have a bounce back game in Atlanta, and ended up scoring a goose egg in the Georgia Dome. The Falcons came to play, and also wanted revenge from the blowout loss by the Giants in last year's wild card game in the Meadowlands. The next week in Baltimore didn't get any better. From the snap, the Ravens basically controlled the game. You can look on the players faces. They looked down and out. No fight, no surge of energy, no type of motivation. Sure, we can put up 42 on a pathetic Philadelphia Eagles team, but when it was time to show that type of energy, it was too little, too late. Needing Chicago and Minnesota to lose, and they both ended up winning. The defense of the New York Football Giants showed no type of life at all whatsoever, and the offense looked totally out of sync. We can easily put the blame on Eli Manning for not putting up the yards that he did in the early part of the season, we can blame Kevin Gilbride for his offensive playcalling, or lack their of, but ultimately blame goes on the whole entire franchise for not putting forth any fight or motivation to even repeat as champions.

If you ask me, the New York Football Giants have the players and coaches to become a top tier team in the NFL for years to come. They're a couple of pieces away from truly being a contender and a dominant team in the league. What doomed this team was everything. Suspect play calling, and effort from each and every player. Yes, there were some bright spots in those horrible games down the stretch, but ultimately you have to blame everybody. We all watched in front of our very eyes, a Washington Redskins team that was not even close to making the playoffs, and only needing one Giants loss to catch fire. That happened. We all watched a Giants team who finally gave the Saints a taste of their own medicine and put up 52 points on them in the Meadowlands, just to get blown out completely by Atlanta and Baltimore. If Jerry Reese is paying attention, this team is in need of a new secondary, faster linebackers, and a new pieces on the offensive line so Eli can definitely have time in the pocket next season. If i had my way to be near this team this past season, i'd walk right up to them and tell them how badly they sucked. Maybe that'll put some pep in their step and get them to play with heart.

Next season, the Super Bowl comes to the Meadowlands. East Rutherford, New Jersey. If the Giants play with heart, pride, and passion, they can be the 1st NFL team to ever play in their home stadium in the big game. I have the ultimate faith that the Giants will be there next season. Fight and play hard for it, and it will happen. Believe.

It's Been a Long Time.........

Ladies and gentlemen, i have returned to my sports blog: let the fun begin!

I've been gone for a long time. Had alot of issues going on, and the biggest being my grandmother passing away. So, here i am, back in the flesh. I just wanted to take this time to thank all my friends and family for being by my side through this tough time. I'm making a effort to keep up with my blog site here, and to do it for my grandmother. I know she'd love to see me do well and succeed from talking about the one thing i seem to love the most, which is sports! It's gonna be tough, but i think with the support of friends, fam, and my fans and followers, i should be able to manage quite well through life.

So here's my thank you to you all. Now let the blogging begin!

Saturday, December 8, 2012

The Resurgence of Brooklyn

Now maybe i shouldn't be writing this due to the fact that i am in fact a lifelong Knicks fan, but because i come from the borough of Brooklyn, i take pride in this next blog. 

The Brooklyn Nets are on the rise. Granted, the season basically just begun, and shockingly the Nets are only 3 games behind the Knicks for the top spot in the Atlantic Division, but you can just tell by watching game by game that the Nets can definitely brew into something special. Now, yes they have dropped their last 3 games to Miami, and at the beautiful new Barclays Center to the Thunder and Warriors, but slowly but surely the chemistry is definitely growing strong within the new group of players. Nobody would've thought they would bring this type of presence to the NBA in such quick fashion. Take a look how all of this began years ago when the team was still in New Jersey. The only time this team was even talked about was when the Jason Kidd-leading Nets went to back-to-back NBA Finals, and ended up losing to the Lakers and Spurs respectively. One more playoff appearance after that, then boom. losing season, after losing season, and moving from East Rutherford to Newark. You can basically say that they was definitely not welcomed in the Garden State. Now, here they are in Brooklyn. New logos, new color scheme, a top 5 point guard in the NBA, and a bolstered roster to give this team a new look, and something for the borough to cheer about. Mind you, Brooklynites haven't seen professional sports since the Dodgers left for Los Angeles just for the simple fact that they couldn't get a brand new stadium right on the spot the brand new Barclays Center sits. Speaking of the Barclays Center, it's one beautiful arena. The architecture overall, inside and out fits Brooklyn perfectly. You can't even tell how massive it is unless you actually stand in front of it. The rust color definitely fits into the Brooklyn swing, resembling the Brownstones of this beautiful borough. from different angles, the arena fits in so perfectly, you can't even tell that it is an arena. Inside is tremedous. from the dark-theater like seating bowl, restaurants, clubs, and the fact that their is no bad seat in the 18,200 filled arena makes it a top notch arena. No wonder why it's dubbed the 1st "Billion Dollar arena" in all the NBA. Looking at this team though, from Deron WIlliams, a struggling Joe Johnson from Atlanta, Reggie Evans, a offensive rebounding machine, Kris Humphries and a new man in Brook Lopez, there's a reason why they are not that far behind from the Knicks. It'll take a while for the Nets to reach the level of the Knicks, who now seem to be a force in the Eastern Conference, and it'll also take some time for Brooklynites to fully accept this team. But it's early in the season. Nobody said that this team would be accepted overnight, but if this team plays with the fight and passion like the borough they reside in, not only will they be a force within the city and Eastern Conference, but a heavy force throughout the NBA for years to come. Staying healthy and fighting every game will give this team the path to win. Winning a championship in this decade before the Knicks do would definitely put them over the hump. They've already beaten the Knicks in a epic overtime showdown earlier in the season, and round 2 is on Tuesday night, back at the Barclays. If they can pull off another victory over the East-leading Knicks, then you can't deny their presence in this city. Blue and orange has dominated this city and region for years. Give the Nets some time, and the black and white will grow on you. Now that they have an arena to call their own, a home to call their own, and a growing fanbase, there's no more denying them, or even calling them a joke.

A warning to all New Yorkers: the Nets are here to stay. Get used to it. 

Conspiracy in the Bronx

Looks like the big bad Yankees aren't so big anymore.

Who would've thought that since the 2009 World Series, and the Yankees winning championship number 27, that they would be going straight downwards? now, maybe as a die-hard Yankees fan, i'm reading too much into what's going on, but so far at the Winter Meetings in Nashville, the Bronx Bombers have yet to make any type of moves to bolster up an aging roster. Maybe i feel the way i feel, because growing up, i'm used to the big boss George Steinbrenner calling the shots and getting the biggest players out on the market to fill a needed position, and to give us the biggest chance to win another World Series come next season. Things don't seem to be flying that way now that the Steinbrenner brothers have taken over this team, and the great boss has passed away. These Yankees nowadays, more so the brass that pulls the strings are onto something else. Like they can care less about the product on the field, but more of just the money aspect of things.

So what makes me feel the way that i do about my favorite team? Well, let's look at the signs:

1) Signing Alex Rodriguez to that huge contract back in 2008, and his now building injuries. When this man was a free agent at the end of the 2003 season, he was signed as a Yankee for one thing: his bat. The Yankees came off of a horrible World Series loss to of all teams the Florida Marlins, and it was apparent what was needed. signing him to a huge contract deal was only right at the time, only due to the fact that he was in his prime. Alex would hit anything and everything that came his way. Yankees brass thought that would be great in the postseason, when it counts the most for us. who would've known that all these years and a horrible money-eating contract later, that the Alex Rodriguez experiment would be a disastrous one. Has anyone noticed that if you take away 2009, Rodriguez hasn't done anything for us in the postseason? Exactly what they didn't bring him in for. Thank you Hank.

2) The Roster is definitely getting older. Soon, the league is gonna start calling us AARP. Jeter, Rivera, and possibly Pettitte will return for another season. 3 of the "Core Four" back again in the legendary pinstripes. If you missed the saga of last year, here's a recap: Mo misses the rest of the season from shagging a fly ball in Kansas City with a torn ACL - the most feared letters in all of sports. In June, as the Yankees reach their peak into the season, winning game after game, and building a lead in the AL East, Pettitte misses games with a broken foot. returned just in time for the postseason. Let's not forget about our beloved captain Derek Jeter: breaks his ankle in game 1 of the ALCS against the Tigers and we eventually get swept. If Ichiro comes back, and whenever Alex comes back from another hip surgery, you're looking at one old team altogether. You would think that the men upstairs would take notice of this, and take action to keep this team a threat in the American League.

3) Hal Steinbrenner playing string master over Brian Cashman. Now sure, we all don't like Cashman for tons of reasons. Me personally, the fact that he wants to stay with the "live by the home run, die by the home run" mentality is what irks me. Yes, we play in Yankee Stadium: a home run heaven when the jet stream and weather conditions are right. Look how the Yankees performed in the posteseaon last year: Took the Orioles to a deciding game 5 in the ALDS because nobody knows how to be a "clutch hitter" and everyone wanted to be Babe Ruth. Not to mention how Detroit came into the ALCS struggling, and swept us as if we were the Cleveland Indians. So here we are in the offseason, and when you think Cashman would try to make trades, and make moves to help this team get somewhat younger and more hungrier to win, Hal (the nicer Steinbrenner) puts the strings on Cashman, giving players low-income contracts to play with us. No wonder why nobody has signed with us. Wait: let's not forget that Kevin Youlklis, a long time Red Sox member could possibly be our 3rd basemen until Alex Rodriguez comes back from hip surgery. Possibly trade a speedy, power hitter in Granderson, for who? I'm not digging the fact that when you expect us to make moves, the Yanks have yet to do anything, thanks in part to Hal Steinbrenner.

Entering 2013, the Yankees have tons of question marks, and it's not so much about the product on the field, as upstairs in the boxes, or down in Tampa. You look at the Yankees issues from the posteseason from a season ago, and you can clearly see where we need help at. This should be a Yankees team trying to get younger, and not one to just rely on that short porch in right field at Yankee Stadium. If you wanna know how i think this team can definitely be better, peep this out: How About we fix Mark Teixiera's swing? Tell Cano to be more aggressive in the batter's box? Work on Nunez at SS, in case Jeter doesn't make it through the entire season? Finding a catcher for the starting rotation to throw to. Maybe i'm looking too into things because of how deep i am with the Yankees. This to me seems like a conspiracy due to the fact that nobody here is giving a damn about this team to get who they need to get and to be the team everyone's used to. Maybe they're setting us up for a big surprise and we all have no idea who or what that could be. For one thing, it seems like the big bad Yankees has lost their bark and bite.

 One thing's for sure: if the top dog was still alive, we wouldn't have to worry about a possible conspiracy. We'd be worrying about how to make it downtown in October for another championship parade.  

Four Games, Big Games

Now, is when things get serious for the Giants! 

4 games left within this season, and the New York Football Giants hold a 1-game lead over Washington and Dallas. This Sunday will be a big game in the Meadowlands as the Saints roll into town with a high-powered offense. Yes, their record shows a team not even worthy of playoff contention, but giving the recent success that the Saints have over the Giants, one might say that this game is not a cakewalk. The primetime lights will be on bright at MetLife Stadium, and now it's up to the Giants to show why they're the defending Super Bowl champions. 

Walking into this game, the Giants come in with question marks. What is going on with the defense? Are they playing "Soft" as Jason Pierre-Paul and Antrel Rolle have said? Where has the running game gone? Can you fully trust rookie David Wilson going down the stretch and possibly into the playoffs? What's going on with the passing attack? One thing is for sure: this game will not be a cakewalk. To me, going into this game will be offensive coordinator Kevin Gilbride. Sure, we all know Eli Manning will do what he can to deliver the ball to the receivers, and Ahmad Bradshaw will carry his load, even more so that Andre Brown is out for the rest of the season, but we're talking about Kevin Gilbride, or to us Giants fans, known as "Kildrive" because his questionable play-calling can cost us games. The Giants offense is going against a Saints secondary that has allowed the most big plays in the NFL this season. With no Sean Payton as their head coach, this Saints team isn't the same team we're used to season for the past few season with that explosive offense and stout defense. You can tell from the 1st game when they played the Redskins and RGIII, this Saints team was doomed. For the Giants defense, it's simple: pressure Drew Brees, and get to him. He's obviously not the same QB the league is used to going against year after year. If JPP and Rolle think this defense has gone soft, and you can make the case that they have even before their bye week, then this game Sunday afternoon is the game to prove that they're still on top. 

The Giants have been down this road before, more than several occasions. They're a team that can't win easy, but when they do win, it's the greatest taste of victory ever. With 4 games left in the season, the Giants need to fight and claw their way to a consecutive NFC East title. Trips to Atlanta and Baltimore await before finishing the season at home against a finished Philadelphia product getting ready to fire their long-time head coach Andy Reid. Last season, it was a game against the cross-locker room mates the Jets that sent the Giants on a nice run through the playoffs and to a 4th Super Bowl title, twice in 4 years. That was the statement win that they desperately needed. This time around, it won't be that easy. This game is against the Saints, and it begins on Sunday afternoon. Help from the Ravens and Bengals would be nice, but i think the Giants would like to get this done on their own. 

If anything else: the last 2 times the Giants played the Saints, it was in the Superdome, and had no chance to win. Now, they get them in the Meadowlands. Outside in the cold, where domed teams don't do so well. Just a little added motivation to win this game.